Game of the Year awards 2011: A New Take

by Scott Nichols

It’s that time of year when every game journalist makes a list of their favorites from the past 12 months. However, when writing my own entries, I found it exceedingly difficult to simply narrow down to a numbered list. How can I compare Mario 3D Land to Skyrim, to To the Moon, to El Shaddai, to Rayman Origins? There were so many games I loved this year, and each for entirely different reasons. So for my own blog, rather than a numbered list of my top 10 or 20 games, I have chosen select favorites and will attribute awards to them for the specific quality that made it my favorite of the year. This means that many genres and categories likely won’t be represented, but then again, I don’t claimed this to be an objective list of any sort.

Oh, and there will be spoilers. For some games it is impossible to discuss what made them so special without spoilers, so I won’t shy away from them.

Hope you enjoy it!

 

Best series reboot: Mortal Kombat

Best social game: Dark Souls

